Picture an old firehouse with its mega-high ceilings and tall windows. Abandoned, it feels vast and empty; transformed into a performing arts space for urban youth, the building takes on a vibrant life of its own.
In 2005, the city of Boston’s Department of Neighborhood Development chose ZUMIX, a non-profit cultural organization dedicated to building community through music and the arts, to develop a beautiful old firehouse located in the vicinity of their then-current East Boston location. Built in 1923, the brick building is ideally located one block from East Boston’s Maverick Square at 260 Summer Street and includes approximately 9,000 SF of space. The former Engine Company 40 Firehouse offered ZUMIX the opportunity to transform this long-abandoned building into an inspiring cultural and performance space for ZUMIX participants and the East Boston community at large.